May 2 — Day of Oil and Gas Action

May 1, 2012

Colorado, Garfield County

From Frank Smith at Western Colorado Congress:

May 2, 2012:
Full Day of Oil & Gas Action!

Sorry for the late notice, but Denver will be brimming with talk of oil & gas regulation on May 2.  Don’t worry, you can make a difference without driving to the Big City!

The State Senate will be considering a bill that would increase public health & environmental protections; the State House of Representatives will be looking at a bill that creates a disincentive for local government regulation of industry; and US Congress’ House of Reps is hearing about proposed public disclosure of ingredients used in hydraulic fracturing, or fracking, on public lands.

Water Rights Protection Act
The Water Rights Protection Act (SB107, Carroll – Wilson) would protect property rights, health & safety, water quantity & quality, closed loop systems, injection of cancer-causing chemicals, environmental bonding.

Introduced by Senator Morgan Carroll (Arapahoe County) and Representative Roger Wilson (Garfield, Pitkin, Eagle, Hinsdale Counties), the bill would greatly expand state agency consideration of impacts to air, water and public health.  Not only that, it considers drilling activity near radioactive materials, explosives and Superfund sites!  As it relates to radioactive materials and sites, Project Rulison is a western slope example of an underground, nuclear precursor to fracking. Let’s make sure drilling doesn’t open a nuclear pandoras box from yester-year, or that drilling and fracking don’t create new ones.

The rush to drill the Niobrara Formation around Colorado now has both sides of the Continental divide calling for healthy communities through safer drilling practices.  Click here, here and here to see a few of our new-found friends’ websites. And, SIGN THE PETITION, IF YOU HAVEN’T ALREADY

Write or call West Slope Senate Judiciary members and/or leaders!
CHAIR: Senator Morgan Carroll: 303-866-4879; morgan@senmorgancarroll.com
VICE-CHAIR: Senator Lucia Guzman: 303-866-4862; lucia.guzman.senate@state.co.us
*Senator Steve King (Mesa County): 303-866-3077; steve.king.senate@state.co.us
*Senator Ellen Roberts (Montrose, San Miguel, Ouray, La Plata, Montezuma & Dolores Counties): 303-866-4884; ellen.roberts.senate@state.co.us
Senator Angela Giron: 303-866-4878; angela.giron.senate@state.co.us
Senator Kevin Lundberg: 303-866-4853; kevin@kevinlundberg.com
Senator Linda Newell: 303-866-4846; Linda.newell.senate@gmail.com
Senator Jeanne Nicholson: 303-866-4873; jeanne.nicholson.senate@state.co.us
Senator Mark Scheffel: 303-866-4869; mark.scheffel.senate@state.co.us
**Western Colorado lawmakers identified with an asterisk(*)

Colorado House Bill 1356
In Colorado, local governments can (and sometimes do) regulate oil & gas development.  But if this bill passes, towns & counties setting additional safety standards would lose-out on state funding meant to bolster impacted communties.

The measure is scheduled to be heard by the House Agriculture & Natural Resources Committee, and according to the Durango Herald, “The bill would withhold payments of severance taxes to any city or county that “in any way restricts or delays” energy production.”

Towns that have oil & gas drilling nearby shouldn’t be punished for their local efforts to conserve health, safety, and environment. So, let’s say No to this bill. By doing so, your saying Yes to safe bridges, rigs further from homes, and cleaner streams. Click here and here to learn more.

Contact House Ag, Livestock & Natural Resource Committee Members!
Chair Rep. Jerry Sonnenberg, 303-866-3706 or jerry.sonnenberg.house@state.co.us
*Vice-Chair Rep. Randy Baumgardner (Garfield, Routt, Grand, Moffat, Rio Blanco, Jackson Counties) 303-866-2949 or randy.baumgardner.house@state.co.us
*Rep. Ray Scott (Mesa & Delta Counties) 303-866-3068 or ray.scott.house@state.co.us
*Rep. Don Coram (Montrose, Delta, Ouray, San Miguel, Dolores, Montezuma Counties) 303-866-2955 or don.coram.house@state.co.us
*Rep. Roger Wilson (Garfield, Pitkin, Eagle, Hinsdale Counties) 303-866-2945 or roger.wilson.house@state.co.us
*Rep. J. Paul Brown (La Plata, Montezuma, Archuleta Counties) 303-866-2914 or jpaul.brown.house@state.co.us
*Rep. Ed Vigil (Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Huerfano, Mineral, Pueblo, Rio Grande, Saguache Counties) 303-866-2916 or edward.vigil.house@state.co.us
Rep. Marsha Looper, 303-866-2946 or marsha.looper.house@state.co.us
Rep. Glenn Vaad, (303)866-2943 or glenn.vaad.house@state.co.us
Rep. Wes McKinley, 303-866-2398 or wes.mckinley.house@state.co.us
Rep. Randy Fischer, 303-866-2917 or randy.fischer.house@state.co.us
Rep. Su Ryden, 303-866-2942 or su.ryden.house@state.co.us
Rep. Matt Jones, 303-866-2920 or repmattjones@gmail.com
**Western Colorado lawmakers identified with an asterisk(*)

US Congress House of Reps Field Hearing
“Federal Regulation: Economic, job and energy security implications of federal hydraulic fracturing regulation”

Washington DC may be gridlock right now, but that’s not stopping the Subcommitte on Energy & Minerals from questioning the notion of publicly listing chemicals used in fracking.  The controversial oil & gas development process that posses serious health and environmental risk could be reined-in by the BLM, and your email or call to US Congressman Scott Tipton can help. Click here to learn more

Check out the State of the Rockies Report that says 63% of Colorado voters are more likely to view environmental laws more as “important safeguards to protect private property owners, public health and taxpayers from toxic pollution and costly clean -ups” than to view them as “burdensome regulations that tie up industry in red tape, hurt them too much financially, and cost jobs”.

WCC on Facebook and Twitter

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Get From the Styx delivered

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: