The canary house

December 23, 2011

gas well drilling, Silt

Vacated Silt Mesa house stalled in foreclosure process
Strudley family believes water well tainted by hydrogen sulfide

Anybody want to buy a house?

I know. This is so not funny.

I call it the canary house. There it stands on a tiny butte overlooking Silt, as a reminder. This is where we’re headed.

My heart goes out to Beth and Bill Strudley and their two sons. I am only an acquaintance of theirs throughout their ordeal and the Antero meetings we attended last winter. So I can say with all kinds of objectivity, they have endured unimaginable anguish with remarkable grit and courage. I admire their strength and perseverance.

Now, what was once their home, the canary house remains as a symbol. Whenever I drive by I think of the Strudleys and wish them well. I remember it is more important than ever to keep the faith and beat the drum for public health and the environment.

We occupy Silt.

Merry Christmas.

, , , , , , , , , ,

Get From the Styx delivered

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

